My Life in Like


Woman of the Century, President Cory Aquino. God Bless You
August 5, 2009, 12:29 am
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , ,
My friend Rev Naval made this amazing tribute to President Cory Aquino. I think this should become a reality :)

My friend Revo Naval made this amazing tribute to President Cory Aquino. I think this should become a reality ๐Ÿ™‚ @ peaceloveandrevolution.com

All our parents have stories about the year 1986, about how they took part in standing up for our freedom which fueled a revolution, ousted a dictator and brought truth and goodness to the place of leadership – her name was President Corazon Aquino.

I was only born then, having not experienced the feelings and joy that every Filipino felt that day that victory was won – but I too have a story, I was a baby in my mother’s womb then, a revolution baby, born in 1986 and with my hand held up with the ‘Laban’ sign in the ultrasound while in my mother’s belly. It’s one of the favorite stories that my parents tell of that year, and maybe how I already knew what was good then. It seems in every way President Cory brings people together, in the beginning when she was first President and now once again at her end, the country comes together.

It may start another revolution, a revolution of peace, of good will and truth to all mankind. Here’s hoping that President Cory didn’t leave behind a broken country, tainted by unfortunate events that followed; what she hoped would be an honest and good government, where democracy was justly practiced and the voters not cheated of their rights to choose their leaders. Let us mourn a leader through action, as a tribute of love to her, be better people. It is time once again for the Filipino people to believe that our country is worth saving, that it can be saved, and that we can write our own destiny even when the two greatest icons of democracy are no longer on this earth. For they have finished their roles here and are off to a better place where they are finally, after so many years of unselfishly fighting for our country – for putting their own personal lives on hold – as husband and wife, are together again.

So, let us leave them to their happiness, their final resting place where Cory and Ninoy can be young again, hold each others hands again, because they have left their legacy behind, and those ideals for us to carry on.ย  It is here in our hearts guiding us through our thoughts and actions – we need to believe for them, because in death do they part from us, but in spirit do they forever live.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Nice one, Karen! I am still amazed what I saw yesterday; the crowd coming together and uniting as one truly made me a proud Filipino. I am so thankful that Tita Cory made all that sacrifices for the country! ๐Ÿ™‚ As for the video that you posted, one of my favorite protest songs. Watching it gives me goose bumps. ๐Ÿ™‚

Comment by Scills




Leave a Reply

