My Life in Like


The Romance of Sharing Bacteria
June 17, 2009, 3:01 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , ,

I remember staring at the empty sink, wondering where my toothbrush went. Looking in the cupboards, in the shower and then walking over to his kitchen, hoping I didn’t accidentally drop it in the trashcan. Instead, my boyfriend comes out with a cigarette in hand, “What you looking for, hun?”

That was the day I first shared my toothbrush.

He proceeds to tell me that he used it as his “travel toothbrush” when he went on a trip to Antipolo. I have a half grin, and my eye starts to twitch. For some people, it’s moving in, getting flowers, or getting that first kiss that brings them to the next step of their relationship, with me: it’s bacteria.

Currently, I use his toothbrush all the time because it’s cooler, it’s electric, for goodness sake he has a PHILLIPS toothbrush. I associate that with a flat screen TV, so I guess it is the LCD of pearly whites. It took me a while to get to this step, but I must admit, other than bewilderment, I was a little giddy when I found out we were sharing bristles.

Personally, I think it’s these moments that really shape where a relationship is going. For some, it seems like a dead end when he finds his once “sexy” girlfriend grinning at him while wistfully using his shaver.  But, the truth is, if you’re planning to spend the rest of your lives together you have to accept the fact that no one can be perfect all the time. If they are, then that’s just freaky.

It helps to be hot once in a while, though. Don’t take me the wrong way and suddenly stuff yourself with éclairs and Cadbury eggs (burp. Oops.) Your man still finds you sexy nonetheless, but you thrill him with random surprises, and find yourself giggling when you find him using your blow dryer. It’s all a bit of fun getting to know each other and doing the things you do when you’re alone, because the bottom-line is, you’re supposed to find your ‘other half’. You can’t do that while holding your farts, covering your toothbrush in plastic and locking your bathroom door, now can you?

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

